top of page
Stations of the Cross Service
Stations of the Cross Service

Wed, Apr 05


St. David's Church

Stations of the Cross Service

Join us at St. David's for the Stations of the Cross Service

Time & Location

Apr 05, 2023, 7:00 PM

St. David's Church, 1015 Old Roswell Rd, Roswell, GA 30076, USA


The Stations of the Cross, also known as the Way of the Cross or Via Dolorosa, is a traditional devotion in Christianity that commemorates the journey of Jesus Christ from his condemnation to his crucifixion and burial. The devotion consists of fourteen stations, each representing a significant event that occurred during Jesus' journey to Calvary.

The first station is Jesus' condemnation, and the last station is his burial. The other stations include Jesus carrying the cross, his meeting with his mother, his falling three times, Simon of Cyrene helping him to carry the cross, his encounter with Veronica, his second fall, his meeting with the women of Jerusalem, his third fall, his stripping of clothes, his crucifixion, his death on the cross, and his body being taken down from the cross.

The devotion involves prayer and meditation at each of the fourteen stations, with the recitation of prayers such as the Our Father, Hail Mary, and Glory Be. It is usually observed during Lent and especially on Good Friday, the day on which Christians commemorate the crucifixion of Jesus Christ. 

The Stations of the Cross is a powerful and moving way to reflect on the suffering and sacrifice of Jesus Christ for the redemption of humanity, and is practiced by various denominations of Christianity.

Share this event

bottom of page